Return to the Trees Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Oak Tree Trunk splitting

Posted by tengage DFW / North TX (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 25, 12 at 16:03

Should I worry about this tree? It was a twig when the builder planted it around 2005. I'm not really sure what species it is. I'm a noob.

[IMG]http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv47/tengage/IMG_20120125_144850.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i668.photobucket.com/albums/vv47/tengage/IMG_20120125_144916.jpg[/IMG]

Here is a link that might be useful: My Tree, let me show you it.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Oak Tree Trunk splitting

some of the "Live Oaks" in N TX developed frost cracks after last winters cold. These cracks are at the base of the tree so if there was not any mechanical damage at some point I would say they are frost cracks.

o

Tengage, that doesn't look good. But......there is nothing you can do about it. Primarily, the tree was planted too deep and now there appears to be some kind of bark disease or decay of some kind. I see another split forming.

But bottom line, it's too late to fix. May as well just see how it does..

+oM

o

Here is the relevant picture:

If I was going to try to keep that tree, I would at least remove all but a very thin layer of mulch (or all of it) up against the trunk. The extra mulch is holding moisture up against the damaged trunk and encouraging rot. If the tree is planted too deeply (we can't tell from those pictures), that could be part of the cause of what's happened (or at least exacerbated the issue). Given the location and nature of the damage (and especially if the damage continues all the way underground), I'd probably prune the tree at ground level, apply glyphosate to the freshly cut stump, and start over the right way.

o

if it were planted too deep ... i doubt it would have grown from a twig to that in 6 seasons

i bet OP did it when they added the brick

pull back the mulch and soil ... and snap us a new pick

as to the damage .. not all that uncommon ...