Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coralbelle

Liriodendron tulipifera

coralbelle
16 years ago

I have a friend who just bought a new house. There is a dying maple tree on the tiny front lawn which will have to be cut down. She wants to replace it with a tulip tree. I have no personal knowledge of tulip trees but it is my understanding that they grow very large and would not be suitable for a small lawn close to the house.

She is in love with this particular tree and I don't want to tell her not to plant it unless I'm sure of my advice.

Any advice?

Thanks,

Coralbelle

Comments (31)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    16 years ago

and another one bites the dust .... lol

i have a bunch of young tulip poplars .... very prone to wind damage ... and not surprising based on their growth rate ...

but what might convince her otherwise.... is that i THINK it takes upwards of 20 years before they flower ... she better be a young chickee if she ever wants to see that ...

a slower growing plant.. at least in my yard is this one ... and it will cost a lot more than a common tulip poplar ..... is below ...

regardless.. let her make her own mistakes .... BTW .. i have 5 acres.. and the one closest to the house is at least 150 feet away ...ken

Aesculus x carnea 'O'Neill Red'
    {{gwi:329458}}

• quirkyquercus
    16 years ago

How far away from the house would it be planted?

• basic
    16 years ago

This can be a huge and impressive tree. A couple of summers back we hiked a trail down a mountain leading to base of Whitewater Falls in NC. The cool side of this mtn. had numerous Tulip Poplars in the 150' range, free of branching for 60'-80' up.

This one grows at Monticello. I have no idea when it was planted, but safe to say its been around for awhile.

{{gwi:329459}}

{{gwi:329460}}

• Dibbit
    16 years ago