Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
summerdean

What trees are good to plant in high wind area?

summerdean
15 years ago

I would like to plant some interesting trees in front of our house, but am not sure if the wind will affect them. I am very new to gardening, so I don't know much. For sentimental reasons I was thinking of planting a dogwood, a cherry blossom, a Japanese maple, and a few more that were relative in size. I live in the Shenandoah Valley and it can be really windy where we live. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I was also thinking of planting some fruit trees...but that's another story!

Comments (20)

• Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    15 years ago

Ken is right.

You can avoid Bradford Pears and Norway Maple types on your wish lists. Also like he says don't plant much that will overhang your home.

Then again none of them were on your list.

If I really think hard I can guess marginally hardy trees, those listed "only" to zone 6, might be more prone to damage from winter winds. Then again no southern magnolias were on your list.

Here is a link that might be useful: U Conn Plant Database

• spruceman
    15 years ago

Summerdean:

Ah, maybe we are neighbors of sorts! I live about 12 miles north of Winchester on a low, airplane wing shaped ridge that accelerates the wind. Boy, the winds are something here! In the little windstorm a week ago several houses along this ridge had their siding--parts of it--ripped off. My back porch soffit/ceiling was ripped out. Sometimes it seems like the winds will never stop.

But the winds are mostly winter and early spring, which makes a big difference. I have planted about 125 varieties of trees so far, and there is nothing I would say I would not plant again because of the winds.