Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flippedcracker

Avocado tree problems

flippedcracker
15 years ago

i recently bought a house, and it has a large mature avocado tree in the back yard. the leaves are all browning from the tip up. i've tried to look it up, but all i ever see is that it's either root rot or salt burn. i haven't really found how to fix either (or if they're fixable), and how to figure out which it is. there also spots on the underside of the leaves. i'll link to a couple of pictures showing what i mean. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

{{gwi:331540}}

{{gwi:331541}}

{{gwi:331542}}

Comments (3)

• firegurl
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi

I'm studying to be an arborist...i'm not certified but here are a few points for thought....
    picture one- extreme marginal leaf necrosis (aka. death from the outside/tip)
    picture two- black mold on leaf underside due to high moisture in warmer winter climates, very common this time of year and usually frequent on dead leaves, the black mold is just a result of the leaf necrosis- which is the symptom of the main issue here
    Since you just bought the house I'm sure you don't have much history on the property but... was the tree in this condition when you purchased or has it changed drastically since you moved in? If it is recent, then what has changed since you moved in...weather-any really cold or freezing temps after a big rain? have you fertilized/added herbicide to the tree or surrounding areas? any construction that would have damaged the tree roots maybe with a large truck too close?

There are many things that can cause leaf necrosis- (marginal leaf necrosis in this case)...