Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lostsoul62

Mimosa Tree

lostsoul62
10 years ago

I have a Mimosa Tree planted 3 feet from my sidewalk and 2 planted 4 feet from my driveway. I planted them last year so should I tear them out or can I just cut the roots as they approach the sideway and driveway?

Comments (5)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

whats the goal???? .. why are we doing this ...

you are not going to defeat an aggressive tree by cutting roots on one side ...

if you just planted them last fall .. they should be rather easy to dig back out ... early spring is the best time to do such ...

and once you do that.. you either get rid of them..

or move them to a more appropriate spot ...

i have no experience with these.. but seem to think.. they are on no ones favored tree list .... if so ... get rid of them ...

i realize you probably spent good money on them... and dont want to lose the investment.. but a mistake is a mistake ... we have all been there at one time or another ...

lets see my list would be: fast growing poplar; pines planted too close to the house; planting invasive when i didnt know better; oh i am sure.. the list could go on forever ...

but no problem is ever cured.. until you destroy the problem ... trust me.. you arent going to win against mother nature .. in the long run .... by cutting and pruning

ken

• rusty_blackhaw
    10 years ago

3-4 feet from the driveway is probably too close for planting mimosa trees (Albizzia julibrissin), mostly because they have low spreading branches that will eventually interfere with traffic on the driveway.

Mimosas are less weedy (and less prone to disease, apparently) near the northern extreme of their range, so I don't see anything wrong with growing one (or a few if you have room) for the sake of the blooms, which are spectacular in season.