Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flintsters_gw

Tree spacing in raised beds

flintsters
10 years ago

I am an elementary teacher and hope to get a bunch of small (bareroot probably from Arbor Day) trees for students to grow for the next couple of years and then transplant on the grounds and in the community. We have some raised beds that were build last year and I'm planning to use those. My questions are:

1) What kind of spacing should I plan to leave between each tree?

2) Are there things I should be specifically thinking about to ensure they successfully grow?

3) How much care would they need during the summer?

4) Would it be best to start them this spring or in the fall?

Comments (7)

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    10 years ago

As a former elementary school teacher, I wouldn't go with Arbor Day as their seedlings are hit or miss quality and it would be discouraging for your kids to have plants that fail through no fault of their own.

I have bought liner-sized plants by the flat from Western Maine Nurseries and they have done really well. I think they sell both seedlings and cutting grown plants and some are bare root. http://www.wmnurseries.com/âÂÂ

Another source for native plants is the NH State Nursery, which sells seedlings.
    http://www.nhnursery.com

I imagine that others can chime in with other inexpensive, reliable sources of small or seedling trees as well. Some areas have small plants sold through county or state conservation organizations that you order and then pick up on a particular day.

I often plant in the early fall as soil is warm and temperatures cooler, so roots can grow and there is less water stress on the plant. If you plant in the spring you will need to visit frequently over the summer or set up a soaker hose on a timer during periods of drier weather. Some years our rainfall is fine here without supplemental water, but if we have a dry summer, you will need to have a plan for regular watering.

• wisconsitom
    10 years ago