Return to the Trees Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Transplanting Magnolia tree

Posted by mintjulep49 MetroDetroit6 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 11, 12 at 11:10

I have a smallish Magnolia tree that I need to move. We moved into our house almost a year ago, and in the front yard, the previous owners had planted a burning bush and a magnolia tree together. The burning bush is close to choking out the tree completely, and as there's not a lot of room for the magnolia to grow (even if the bush were gone), I need to move it.
I've read a little about transplanting, and I know it's going to be iffy already, but it's coming out either way.
The tree stands about 8 feet tall and the trunk is 5-6 diameters.
I'll take any and all suggestions on the best way to move it.
Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Transplanting Magnolia tree

cut both to the ground.. and apply 100% round up to the stumps ...

and go spend $30 bucks on a new small magnolia at the bigboxstore ...

i have 30 years experience at doing such .. and frankly ... would not mess with an 8 foot anything ... we are talking a 3 foot ball of soil.. that could weigh upwards of 200+ pounds.. lifting it out of a hole.. dragging it across the yard.. dropping it in a hole .. etc ...

all to save 30 bucks.. where does that cost benefit ratio work out???

otherwise.. i used to do such in early april in livonia ... go for it .. it will be good exercise.. if you dont blow a disc out in your back ... [and i still do such in april in adrian mi]

its not worth it ..

ken

o

A magnolia with a trunk diameter of 5"-6" would need a rootball MUCH, MUCH, MUCH larger than 3'. I think Ken's right about the rest of the stuff (unless, maybe, you have a backhoe handy).

o

Moving a magnolia of this size is a daunting task and may well fail because magnolias have a brittle root system with a limited number of feeder roots. The advice in the two responses above is worth considering, but if you're really determined to try: