Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vintage_nj

Question concerning RedBud pruning

Vintage_NJ
10 years ago

I purchased a 3' bare root Eastern Redud tree last spring. The tree has done very well however second branch developed and grew out significantly making it the longest branch on the tree. I am new to growing Redbud trees and would appreciate any advice on where and when to prune the tree? Should I remove the larger second branch all together given it's location and length? Thanks. HG

Comments (5)

• hortster
    10 years ago

Redbuds tend to develop multiple leaders with an overall mushroom shape. I would let it go for a couple more seasons before considering how it should be pruned, if at all.

My C. canadensis did develop a slightly leaning main leader before branching multiple leaders, but the C. reniformis triple branched at about 4'. Your picture looks pretty normal to me.

{{gwi:334216}}

hortster

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

just planted last spring ... leave it be ...

leaves are food making machines.. your plant is too small.. to cut off half of them ...

maybe by next fall.. choose one.. and properly prune it off ...

and it wouldnt even matter if you did so in 2 or 3 years ...

thats a lot of growth for the year of planting... did you fertilize it???

if so.. i would NOT ... ever.. fert trees ...

it doesnt matter.. when you cut them off.. which was there first.. the one on the left.. is now your leader... it has apical dominance.. if that is the right term ...

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: suprised myself.. i was right.. lol ..

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    10 years ago