Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tommywp

Spacing of fastigiate european hornbeam

tommywp
11 years ago

I'm a newbie who has been lurking on the board, so take it easy on me. I have a 12 ft wide side yard, then a 2 ft wide 6 ft tall hedge row, then my neighbor has a 4 ft wide side yard. I want to to block the view of my neighbor's second floor. My current plan is to plant two Fastigiate European Hornbeams about 6 ft apart from one another. I'd like to plant the tree's as close to the hedge row as possible and limb them up over time so that there are no branches on the bottom 6 feet. Any suggestions on minimum distance from the hedge row, if I'll need to bring the hedges down from their current 6 foot height, or if my limbing up plans are too aggressive? Any recommendation for alternative trees that I should consider? I'm in Zone 7a, location gets 8-10 hours of sun, soil is decent and seems to drain ok.

Comments (6)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

new blinds or shades.. or reflective glass.. would sure be easier ...

i dont understand the concern about why the tree has to be spaced form the hedge ... WHY????

the only issue i see.. is you taking proper care of it thru PROPER WATERING.. to insure it can get some roots down.. to compete with the shrubs ... it should only take a year or two ...

at the link.. i am thinking those trees are wider than.. or have the potential to be wider than your 12 foot space ... they never really stop growing up nor out ....

and i have never figured out how to prune trees at a second story level .... w/o killing myself ... with the caveat .... that what you can do at 30.. is way different than a 50 y.o. ... when the tree gets really aggressive ... by which time they are 30 feet above the second story ...

this post reminds a lot of this post:

http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/trees/msg0311510524079.html?8

someone at that house must have had the same idea ...