Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fisannie

bay trees or bay bushes

fisannie
15 years ago

Hi I'm a newbie and have been lurking for afew months.I love this site and I love all the forums. My husband is going to buy me a laptop so that he can have time on our desktop every now and then.

My burning question is; What is the difference between Sweet Bay bushes and Bay Laurel trees?

At the risk of taking too long[too late], I bought a plant called sweet bay bush. I planted it in front of a wooden

play house in our back yard to make the structure look homey. It grew very well for a few years but got big enough to make it look too close to the playhouse. I replanted it in the front yard and it did not die but it looked like it lost some of it's height. It never did look right after that. Finally we were having pine trees cut down[after H. Katrina] and one fell on my Bay. That was the end of that,or so I thought. This year my husband was getting leaves out of our planting gardens and therewas my Bay close to the soil about 3 in. tall and looking so cute. I really want to keep this tree or bush.

Comments (12)

• Embothrium
    15 years ago

Both names have been used for Laurus nobilis.

• MissSherry
    15 years ago

Sweet bay bush might refer to sweet bay trees/magnolia virginiana. They're trees down here, but I hear they're only bushes up north.
    Sherry

• fisannie
    Original Author
    15 years ago

THANK YOU,bboy and misssherry. I ran out of room on my last post,but was wondering how to care for it. What kind of pests and disease to expect. What to do about them and how big do they have to get before starting to harvest leaves. I make pot pourri and plan to use some leaves in a few of my mixtures. Any info I can get about this plant would be greatly appreciated.

• MissSherry
    15 years ago