Return to the Trees Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cherry Tree cross Pollination

Posted by acce PA (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 23, 10 at 16:05

I'm new to this, I just bought a Prunus Avium Black Tartarian (Sweet) and I did research and it needs another cherry tree for pollination to bear fruit. Does it have to be the same cultivar or can it crosspollinate with my Prunus Subhirtella Weeping Higan Cherry?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cherry Tree cross Pollination

You need another sweet Cherry.
Here's one paragraph that discusses this:

"Two trees are usually needed to produce fruit, and second tree must be chosen with care. No combination of these will produce fruit: 'Bing', 'Lambert', Royal Ann'. These varieties will pollinate any other cherry: 'Black Tartarian', 'Corum', 'Deacon', Republican', 'Sam', 'Stella', and 'Van'. However, because 'Lambert' blooms late, it is pollinated best by 'Republican'. 'Glacier', 'Lapins', 'Stella', and 'Sunburst are self-fertile (a lone tree will bear)."

-------

Any other Sweet cherry varieties chosen (info for others) will also need a pollinator. Furthermore, there are varieties that only do well when pollinated by select other cherries. Here is one more example...

"'Utah Giant'. Ripens with 'Bing' but is larger, sweeter; develops sweetness even before fully ripe. Holds color when processed. Pollinate with 'Van' or 'Stella'."

So, as advised above, it isn't a complete free for all. I know for a fact (however) that 'Bing' is usually selected as a pollinator, but of course, there are many, many, choices. It's just easy for nurseries to carry a "generic" pollinator. It saves time and the trees are in the customers hands and they're on their way.

Sunset Western Garden Book (Fifth Printing June 1997); Sunset Books Inc, Menlo Park, CA; ISBN: 0376038519.

-------

Dax

o

So do two tartarian cherries produce fruit? And when we say pollinator, does it mean these have to be frown next to each other, or can they be like 15' apart?

o