Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mdashali_gw

Save a mature plum tree

mdashali
10 years ago

Hello All,
I have been reading all the great discussion for the past few weeks and this is my first post.

I bought a house last April that came with a mature Plum tree. It gave amazing number of fruits last year. I got the tree pruned in January which I thought was the right time. A few weeks ago I started noticing bark split and ants running around the branches. I have also noticed a bump with brown goo. I am not sure how long this has been happening as I am new to gardening. I was under the assumption that old mature tree doesn't require much care. I have been reading about it and looks like the tree might have bacterial cankers. I emailed Santa Clara county master gardener and they said that the tree might be dying. I am very sad that I may loose the tree due to my neglect. It is the highlight of our backyard. I am trying to get an Arborist come by and take a look but I am not having much luck.

Can any of the expert here provide any help? Do you think there is a chance the tree can be saved?

I have some pictures of the entire tree and problem areas at: https://plus.google.com/photos/113051870581645897520/albums/6001646307727206897?authkey=CLegyenC4tjbew

Thanks.

Comments (5)

• jean001a
    10 years ago

here's your link made active

Here is a link that might be useful: your link

• Huggorm
    10 years ago

That goo is how plum trees react when stressed, it is probably becuase of the pruning. It might get better when the tree recover from the loss of foliage. Pruning of plum trees should be kept to a minimum, but pruning companies wont tell you that becuase they want to work and make money.

• mdashali
    Original Author
    10 years ago

jean001a: Thanks for making the link active :)