Return to the Trees Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with Identification

Posted by rsmoore27 (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 1, 14 at 12:16

If anyone could help identify this tree, it would help me out. I think this is a good representation of what's needed, but if there's something more specific that's needed, please let me know.
Front Tree photo FrontTree.jpg
Front Tree Leaves photo FrontTreeLeaves.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with Identification

Looks like acer rubrum to me. Definitely a maple. Maybe a tad chlorotic which acer rubrum is susceptible to in high ph soils. Where are you located?

o

I'm in Dallas, TX. I'm new to all of this, but I'm assuming that chloritic is bad? It wouldn't surprise me, because I'm concerned the tree's actually dead. Those pictures are from a year ago, and now, there are no leaves whatsoever (fell off late last summer) and there don't appear to be any growing back. I noticed yesterday that it actually appears to be leaning a little as well.

I can get new pictures of the current state later today.

o

Dallas would be a location acer rubrum would show signs of chlorosis to some degree. The fact that it hasn't leafed out yet and dropped it's leaves early is quite worrisome, I agree with you. Scratch the bark on limbs/twigs and see what color is underneath. Green means it is alive and brown means it is dead. Our red maples have flowered but not broken leaf buds here yet but at your location it should be about time for that tree to put out leaves. A picture would be great, too if you can manage :-)

This post was edited by j0nd03 on Tue, Apr 1, 14 at 13:58

o

Thanks so much for the thoughts. I'll scratch the bark when I got home this evening to see what color's inside. I'll also get a current picture and see what you guys think.

o