Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
porchlight

HELP! I want to save this bay tree seedling.

Yesterday my friend dug up two tiny bay tree seedlings and brought them to me planted in 5 gallon buckets. I want to plant them near my house for the smell, and dwarf them.

This morning my one year old ripped one out of the bucket whole. OUCH!!!

I dipped it in water and rooting hormone...now what?
Peat moss and fluffly dirt? Back in to it's native soil? Straight in to the ground at my house?

The seedlings came with their native soil -- one more clay than the other. My soil has less clay than both.

Please advise. I really want to save these little bay trees.

Comments (11)

• famartin
    10 years ago

First advice: Find a way to protect your trees from your 1 year old ;)

• surya55_gw
    10 years ago

Oh my- I feel for you- I'm not good with bay at all. I planted some seeds and they never sprouted- twice now! Anyway, try the Herb Forum. Someone there would definitely help you. Good luck

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

plant them in mother earth NOW ... see link .. no amendments.. no fert.. nothing ... but PROPER WATERING ALL SUMMER ...

i would never dip a rooted tree in rooting hormone.. but if it has no roots ... its probably a goner ... i doubt it will root ...

then push in a giant stake.. so you know where it is at all times.. so you dont step on it ...

and finally ... research how big this thing will be in ten or 20 years.. and plant it appropriately far.. from the house ...

see if you can get a few more... there are other methods... to experiment with ... if you want to insure success ... let us know if you get more ...

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    10 years ago

Is this Laurus nobilis? If so just plant it, firm it in, water it thoroughly and leave it in peace. They transplant very easily.