Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joyousgirl_gw

What fruit trees can I grow near each other?

joyousgirl
14 years ago

I would like to grow some fruit trees, but I'm not sure what trees can be planted near each other.

I'm especially interested in pears, apples, and pomegranates, and perhaps cherries too.

Can these all be grown near each other?

Also, I would like to start them all from seeds as soon as possible, and keep them indoors or in a green house until next spring or fall.

Any information you have would be helpful, as I'm new to tree growing. Thanks!

Comments (8)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    14 years ago

Just to be clear, you need open-pollinated heirloom fruit to save seed from - you can't just go to the store and grow that apple or pear you purchase in the produce section. I suspect there may be suppliers out there somewhere that have such seed, but much more common is to purchase grafted stock, as the time from seed to fruit is many years.

Dan

• joyousgirl
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Dan,
    Thanks for your reply. I found a supplier on Ebay that sells fruit tree seeds. Not a huge fan of ebay but the sellers feedback is decent.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago

Pomegranates very iffy in your zone - they prefer a hotter climate to do well. And I'd second the suggestion to look for grafted seedlings (whips) rather than attempting from seed. Besdies the time involved to actually achieve a fruiting maturity, there is no guarantee that the seed you purchase is suitable to your location or will even produce a tasty, edible fruit....it might but it is just as likely not to. And despite what the feedback or reviews may say, I'd be extremely hesitant about purchasing from ebay. I know of too many instances when the item described (plants or seeds) is nothing like what is received or even a viable product. I know vendors selling what are known to be sterile seeds and purchases who do not know better are taken in. Buyer beware!