Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spudicus

Need help with a sick pine tree

Spudicus
11 years ago

Hi, i'm new to the site but i'm hoping this is where I can come for help. I am an amateur when it comes to gardening, but we have had an 8-9 foot pine tree for about 3 years and it has begun to show some signs of sickness, malnutrition, or something else.

Does anyone have an idea what is happening to my tree and what I should do to attempt to save it?

Any help is much appreciated!

Comments (10)

• wisconsitom
    11 years ago

Spud, the tree looks perfectly healthy except for that one or two branch area. Maybe something physically damaged the tree there. Think broken branches, still half attached but dead and drying out. I'm not there but that's how it looks to me. If so, just grab a hand pruner or loppers and cut out the bad stuff. In so young a tree, new growth of surrounding branches will fill in that area easily.

+oM

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

first .. tom???? .. its a spruce ...

second.. that might be one branch.. cant tell.. get it there.. and cut is off ....

this thing has 50 to 100 foot potential.. and 3 feet from that fence corner is not enough space ....

ARE THERE POWER LINES ABOVE ??? .. if so.. get rid of it now ..

picea pungens??? or picea abies .... i cant tell this early in the morning on this pic .....

ken

ps: and some day.. it will have SPRUCE cones... not pine cones ....

• WxDano
    11 years ago

I would say those branches are to windward or irrigationward. Otherwise I see no evidence of insect pests on that spruce.

• Spudicus
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you all for your help! I suppose I could have been more specific and/or accurate.

It is a Caanan Fir, and I will definitely prune the dying branches. My concern is the quantity of them. I estimate there are 6-10 dead branches randomly distributed around all sides and heights of the tree.