Return to the Trees Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Not sure if oak tree is dead?

Posted by marinewife2009 SC (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 13, 11 at 21:52

Hello!

There is an oak tree in my back yard that was apparently transplanted there (from the front) by the previous owners. I am not sure what exactly is wrong with it, but it definitely is not blooming as it should! I was wondering if any experts out there could look at the pictures and tell me if it is a lost cause . . . if not, what should we do with it? If you click on the pic below, it will take you to the picasa album.

Dead Tree

It has started to flower just a bit as spring has started here in South Carolina. But it seems very diseased!

Thank you in advance for any help you can give as I am new to gardening (and to the forum!) :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Not sure if oak tree is dead?

Whatever that bondage is that's encasing the rootball is the likely cause.

tj

o

What is that stuff on the ground. I can't tell if it's pieces of tile or wood or what. I guess that's what TJ is talking about. Whatever it is, does it extend underground?

o

If you're getting green new growth it's not dead, but the black on the trunk bottom is weird, I assumed those were rocks on the soil.Is it a live oak? They lose their leaves in spring and put out new ones, did it defoliate? I can't see anything that would worry me if it were my tree besides the black on the trunk,maybe my eyeballs are not working as good as someone elses.

o

A good indicator that a plant is alive is when it flowers.

I suspect the black stuff on the trunk is from a brush fire. And that stuff around the trunk all looks bad. Poor thing just has obstacle after obstacle thrown at it, and it keeps going on. A lesson for all of us!

Dan

o