Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
labwench

Water-Loving Tree Between a Driveway and a Septic Leach Field

labwench
12 years ago

Hi All,

Newbie here. Please be gentle. We just moved into a new house that has 2 acres and very little in the way of plantings. I suspect, I'll be asking lots of questions as we try to make the yard look a bit better. OK, the question:

We have this one area in the front yard with a bit of a dip that stays a bit damp. We would love to plant a tree there. The problem is that the area is about 10 feet from the driveway and 30-35 feet from the septic leach field. I don't want the roots from the tree to do damage to either.

Any suggestions for a tree with deep rather than wide ranging surface roots that could stand the extra moisture? I'd love a magnolia, but I don't know much about their root spread up here in the midwest (where they grow smaller than my home of TN). Or should I just make a nice feature garden there?

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• viburnumvalley
    12 years ago

Great handle, labwench. I'm married to one...

A tree as a permanent plant would be a poor choice, for exactly the reasons you are concerned. There is no temperate tree with roots that only go down. Roots colonize quality growing environments, and the top two feet of soil under normal conditions are where they usually hang out. Provide additional moisture and nutrients, well - you've just set up a buffet.

I suppose you could select a tree species that really prefers xeric conditions, that would be repulsed by wetter conditions. It would likely have a short life and never invade your leach field.

The best choice would be to select a more modest stature plant, like a handsome shrub/small tree. Did I hear someone mention viburnum...

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

welcome!!!

two new acres .. and you are fixated on this BAD SPOT ... i had the same problem when i moved to acreage ... enjoy this summer working on the other 1.98 acres ...