Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ilovegardening_gw

Royal Paulownia trees

ilovegardening
9 years ago

I recently ordered three Royal Paulownia trees--without having noticed that they will grow to 60' tall or more! Their instructions say to plant at least 20' apart. The area on my property where I wanted to put these would need them more like 10' apart, and I'd prefer that they not get 60' tall.

After doing a bit of looking around I've found that they can be chopped down to the ground every winter and allowed to start fresh each year--which, of course, limits their growth, and also that they can be grown in clay to limit their size.

But what about growing them in containers? I mean in the ground, but in very large planters. I've never done this before with ANY plants, but it seems pretty logical [to me!]. To passersby they would appear to be growing in the ground like other trees, but below ground level they'd really be in planters to limit how far their roots can grow.

What do you all think? And if this doesn't sound like a good approach, do you have any other suggestions?

Comments (33)

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

I think it would be just as easy to plant them in the ground. Why go to the trouble of potting them in large containers and then sinking them in the ground? Pots can sometimes hold too much water when sunk causing the roots to rot. Cutting them every spring will limit their growth sufficiently.

Just a thought-as a horticulturist and landscaper, I advise my clients to do a bit of research before they buy, not after. If you do not want a plant that grows to 60 feet, do not buy a 60 foot plant and try to keep it smaller. It doesn't work and the attempts to limit the size will only frustrate both you and the plant.

Linda

• rusty_blackhaw
    9 years ago