Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ariche0503

Need Help - Trying to grow new tree from piece of old one

ariche0503
9 years ago

I'm a complete novice to gardening but I was hoping someone here could help me get this project going. I recently was able to visit my old childhood home. A tree my mom and dad planted the same month I was born is now just heap of bark and small growth.

It's a silk oak tree. I took a few samples of it hoping I could get it to regrow so I could plant it on my own property someday.

I have two large medium sized chunks of the actual tree starting from the bark to a quarter of the way inside of the tree. There are thin, lightweight growth/branches stemming from it.

I already have it in soil with some root hormone but can someone please help steer me in a better direction on this? I know there's no guarantees but I would rather try hard and fail than just sit back and watch it die.

Any suggestions is MORE than appreciated.

Comments (12)

• akamainegrower
    9 years ago

Silk oak is usually listed as hardy only in Z9 or warmer, so if you're below that it's not likely to survive even if you can root it. The method you're using isn't very likely to work, but you have nothing to lose by trying. Silk oak is a weedy tree that reproduces enthusiastically and a few trees are capable of producing roots from the kind of material you're using. I'd suggest putting a plastic bag over the pot to maintain high humidity and keeping it in a bright place but out of direct sun so it doesn't cook. Even if it doesn't root, you may be able to keep the branches growing over the summer so that you can take greenwood cuttings from them in the late summer or fall. They would have a much better chance of producing roots.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

first ..... pix!!!

you need an ID ...

then.. convert to a latin name..

and then add PROPAGATION to the latin name.. and see if it can be done ...