Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris_rb

Birch tree stump new growth

chris_rb
14 years ago

We cut down a birch tree in 2007 and never removed the stump. Now there are shoots growing around the circumference of the stump.

My question is, do you think we can successfully grow a new tree by selecting one of these shoots and cutting the rest?

{{gwi:355654}}

Comments (9)

• hortster
    14 years ago

Often the connection between the new growth and the stump is weak. Also, the stump will rot, and although the new growth will compartmentalize against this, the scenerio is not good. To answer your question, yes, you can let ALL suckers grow for a season and pick the strongest. However, a sucker coming from a dead stump is hardly the best idea for a new tree.
    Hortster

• spruceman
    14 years ago

I see questions about stump sprouts fairly often in this forum--it is an important and interesting issue. I have had a lot of experience with trees from stump sprout origin, and have read a number of silvicultural articles about it. Here are some important points.

First, different species of trees have different potentials for successful stump sprout regeneration. With some species, such as black cherry, stump sprouts are almost universally successful, and often result in magnificent trees, strong, vigorous, and basically as good as trees of seedling origin. Other kinds of trees are a bit more "iffy," such as red maple. But even red maple stump sprouts can result in good trees.

I really don't have any information about birch trees, and it may make a difference which kind of birch you have.