Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maggiemae222

I'm confused.....Red Maple, Royal Red Maple, Crimson King...

maggie2
12 years ago

Disclaimer: I'm a noob, so please go easy on me. :)

I've googled and searched this site for the answer, but I'm still confused. What is the difference between Red Maple, Royal Red Maple and Crimson King? I know they are all Norway Maples, but I also know many of you on this site do not like Crimson King at all. There is one post on this site that lists the Crimson King this way: Crimson King (Red Maple) - so does that mean they are the same? I'm not seeing consistemt information on this. Are any of them desirable to plant or do you have any suggestions on a red/purple/maroon leaved tree?

Comments (22)

• Embothrium
    12 years ago

Red maple is heavily planted across North America, liable to be present in cultivation whether native or not. Sugar maple can have problems with urban conditions and hot, dry winds.

• Embothrium
    12 years ago

Is also frequently sold and planted, often as a red maple in the case of more than one cultivar.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

since you are.. as you say... a noob ....

what is your ultimate goal under your tree???

norways will eventually.. kill even grass under it ... which means you will do no gardening under that tree.. in say.. 10 to 20 years ...

soooo.. if you plan ... long term .. to want to do some shade gardening .. under your trees ... you better find something besides a maple ...

also .. how far from the house ????

there are a multitude of issues to address.. beyond color.. before you decide on planting ... care to give us some facts .... so we might guide you along the decision process ...

ken

• Embothrium
    12 years ago

In my area, with its dry summers Norway maple (the thing is planted everywhere) often gets numbers of aphids which make it look oily with their sticky secretions.

• maggie2
    Original Author
    12 years ago