Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
compiler

Help to select a tool to trim and cut braches and stems

compiler
12 years ago

I need a tool to trim and cut tree branches and stems up to 1 inch diameter. I am not considering a gas power tool but electric and manual one only. Do you think what type of pruner, pole saw or other type of tool is better, electric, manual pruner or what else? Can you recommend one?

Comments (21)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    12 years ago

I am not a professional pruner but I do quite a bit, both for my own purposes and for clients. IMO, you need at least three tools - hand pruners (aka, secateurs) for fine pruning or smaller diameter cuts, loppers (for longer reach and upto 2" diameter cuts, depending on brand) and a pruning saw. These are ALL hand tools! Unless you are a professional arborist or logger, power pruning tools should be avoided - it is dangerous if you don't know what you're doing, both to yourself and the tree in question (only exception is possibly hedge trimmers, if applicable to your garden).

If you have taller trees that need pruning attention beyond what a basic pole pruner/pruning saw or 8' ladder cannot address, hire a professional!

The only other tool that I feel is absolutely essential for pruning is a detailed, thorough guide to pruning a wide range of landscape plants and/or pruning classes. IME, far too many homeowners get out there with their tools but not a clue how to use them properly and the results are seriously unfortunate. Pruning tools should come with a license for use, much like driving a car :-)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

link below to felcos ... if you have any volume .. the price is worthwhile ... the best tool you will ever have ... any good local nursery should have them ... try them out.. before you invest ...

this link for saw:
    http://www.amleo.com/leonard-folding-pruning-saw-7%22-curved-blade/p/A700/