Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boskoslo

which redwood is the easiest to grow?

BoskoSLO
9 years ago

Hello people!

I'm in search for an answer for which redwood tree is the easiest to grow at my home? Few weeks ago I tried with giant sequoias. A few germinated and died after 1 week. I think because of the fungi disease. Then I was wondering my self. I knew that there are more types of redwood trees around but which one besides the giant sequoia is the easiest to grow and is more tolerant to diseases, soil or temperatures? As far as I know is that there are at least 6 or more giant sequoias already growing in my country and the tallest is around 50m in heigh in the city "Kranj-Slovenia" So i'm sure that all other redwood trees should be able to grow in my country "I live near the alps where summer can get hot and winters very cold and I have enough sun light over the day because I don't live behind a mountain".

Oh and I'm kind of new to the growing trees or any sorts of plants at my home. So i'm not a professional gardener.

I'm grateful to every answer you give me. Because I'm very interested in growing my own trees from seeds.

Have a nice day!

Comments (18)

• davidrt28 (zone 7)
    9 years ago

Sounds like you are in the colder parts of Slovenia. If you were right by the Adriatic you could probably grow the coastal redwood (Sequoia semprevirens).
    So you are limited to "big tree", the interior species: Sequoiadendron. Damping off of newly germinated seed is a problem that can possibly affect practically anything, from tropical orchids to hemiboreal Larches, so don't feel too bad about losing your first try. You just have to correct the conditions, possibly use a fungicide, and try again. Increase air circulation, water less, etc. Read the wikipedia article.

• davidrt28 (zone 7)
    9 years ago

Just looked at your weather stats. (or nearby)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ljubljana