Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flygarden

Help - Dying Atlas Cedars

FlyGarden
9 years ago

I have 4 blue atlas cedars in my yard - watered but well drained. One has suddenly dropped all its needles and died. Two others (not the weeping variety, as far as I know) are suddenly drooping, with their bark beginning to peel away on the trunks. One healthy cedar remains.

On one of the two dying cedars, I found a half dozen beetles (pic of one attached) underneath a piece of the shedding bark.

I am a complete tree novice, and could use any ideas:
(1) Is this beetle a form of pine bark beetle? Or does it look like a benign insect not likely to harm the trees?

(2) If this beetle is the cause of the demise of my first cedar, is there anything I can do to save the two dying and one healthy tree.

(3) If this beetle is not likely the cause of the cedar's demise, any other suggestions for what might have killed the cedar so suddenly? I will post a pic of the dead tree in a follow up.

Comments (12)

• User
    9 years ago

Flygarden,
    If it is pine bark beetle, they usually die fast from the top down.
    My neighbor lost a gorgeous white pine that was at least 40 years old last year, so sad, and it died fast, from the top down.
    You have to get rid of the trees that are starting to die, have them removed and carted away,
    Burn anything remaining.
    So sad. Nothing you can do but get rid of the trees ASAP if they are being killed by the pine bark beetle.
    They spread, so the sooner you get the other infested trees cut down and hauled away, the better for the one remaning healty one.
    You might want to watch the dying trees carefuly, are they dying fast from the top down?
    Mabey a tree service who has an arborist can give you his opinion.
    Sorry.

• FlyGarden
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you for the responses. Yes, butterfly, two of the trees have begun wilting from the top during the past two weeks (see pic).