Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smitair17_gw

When to begin training crape myrtles

SmitAir17
10 years ago

I purchased 2 crape myrtles last year which were around 3 feet each. I was under the impression that I should let them grow a full year after planting before pruning them. Is this true? I want to train them to grow as trees, should I pull the lower leaves off the main trunk? I am new to this, but I'd like to train them to grow as pictured. Any info is greatly appreciated.

Comments (4)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

Selection of the main trunks should happen as soon as possible, in my opinion. You can leave the lowest foliage and small axillary stems to help the plant produce more energy until it gets a bit larger. Do not cut the tops, even at this early age, or you can ruin the architectural beauty that these plants offer in the winter.

Annually, all you should have to do is prune off any inward growing branches, crossing branches, and suckers. Make all cuts to outward growing branches or to the main stems, leaving a branch collar but never a large stub. Topping should never be done on a crape myrtle.

Always prune a crape myrtle in the winter or early spring before the leaves begin to emerge. Then you can see what you're doing.

Here is a link that might be useful: Click here

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

having never even seen a CM in person ...

let me suggest.. a recent transplant is not cut on for 2 years ...

think of every leaf as a food making machine.. to grow the roots.. to get the plant ESTABLISHED ...

and then.. once established ... THEN you start thinking about the future ...

that said ... this fall.. perhaps a nub or two down low.. i would probably not worry about taking off ....

ken

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    10 years ago