Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barbieberry

Will my lilac tree get more leaves this year?

gardenbug
9 years ago

Today, I pruned my lilac tree because it was getting quite tall and the branches were too close to my house. It bloomed nicely this year but most of the lilacs were near the top. The blooms are all finished so I thought it would be a good time to prune it. This lilac tree is about 30 years old. I removed about 1/3 of the length of the branches but in doing so, I noticed quite a few of the leaves are gone now, I guess most of the leaves grew around the tips of the branches. There are buds growing all along the branches. Will I get new leaves this summer on my tree? Thanks everyone.

Comments (7)

• poaky1
    9 years ago

I would imagine yes. You may need to thin out that remaining bottom, or cut near the ground, though. If nobody here knows try the shrub forum. I am not an expert gardener, just posting what I think will help.

• gardenbug
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you Poaky, I'm glad to hear that because it looks a little bare. My lilac isn't a shrub though, it's a tree! It has a trunk, which is why I posted it here.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

giving a lilac a haircut is not the way to go ...

search out: rejuvenation pruning of flowering shrubs... you are supposed to remove 1/3 of the branches... at ground level ...

whats going to happen.. is that it will now grow again... the same height it was before.. but on top of what you left.. eventually collapsing due to such.. in years i mean ...

ken

ps: your words are a pit confusing.. w/o a pic.. is this the standard shrub ... or a lilac on a standard .. on a trunk ???? ... obviously... you wouldnt do rejuvenation on a standard ...

• casia_nh
    9 years ago