Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fsofficer_gw

Looking for the right street tree

fsofficer
11 years ago

Hi, all. I've been reading this forum for a long time but this is my first time posting.

I'm looking for a "street tree" to go between the sidewalk and street in front of my house (~8 ft strip). Location is SE Nebraska, zone 5. Also:

- Soil is very heavy clay.

- Winds are very strong in spring and fall. (It's windy Nebraska, and my house is on top of the highest hill in town.)

The local garden center recommended a Redmond Linden as something that would tolerate the clay soil, grow moderately fast, and probably cause any root damage to the sidewalk. However, I'm not really sure I want a large/wide/dense shade tree that will totally dominate and block the view of the house. If I do, I'd want something relatively columnar and with beautiful fall colors.

The more I think about it, I'm starting to go in the direction of some sort of ornamental tree that doesn't grow too large (maybe 30-35' at most) but sets the house apart from the rest with some striking spring flowers, and is relatively open at the bottom and casts a light shade so as to not over-shade the grass in the front yard.

Looking around on the 'net, things like the "Purple Robe" Black Locust look interesting, but would appreciate lots of other ideas and input.

Thanks

Comments (12)

• cearbhaill (zone 6b Eastern Kentucky)
    11 years ago

I know that different municipalities do things differently, but does that property belong to you? In all my homes the city owns that strip and can come through and dig it up for any number of reasons. Wouldn't want anything too pricey if that is the case.
    If not- never mind :)

There are no power lines around?
    Any druthers regarding fall color?

• calliope
    11 years ago