Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drimdadb

Trees not growing straight

drimdadb
9 years ago

Hi all.
Its my first post in this forum. I am new to gardening and first thing I am worried about is the shape of my trees.
I have grown dalbergia sissoo trees from seedlings at my place. They have grown more than 60cms since this March. The problem I am facing is that they are not growing straight erect. Day by day they are becoming moon (or maybe rainbow) shaped.
I googled and learned about tree stalking, and than tried the figure 8 knot, etc. But the result is more complicated. If I tie at only one place it only dislocates the centre of the dome. If I tie at two points, it brings the seedlings in s-shape.
The shoots are so delicate that I am worried about the shape of my trees after few years.

Looking for help.

Regards

Dr Imdad Baloch
Pakistan

Comments (14)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

are they in full sun???

are you fertilizing them ...???

how big pots are they in ...

you are probably not tying them well enough ... this probably isnt a situation for figure eight knots .... you have to be more aggressive ... and tie them tightly to a stake ...

do you have access to good stakes??? you should probably have a 4 foot stake.. and tie them every 6 inches of so ... until they are.. for lack of a better word.. 'splinted' to the stake ... to force the trunk straight

i cant find an image ... a stake... should be pushed into the pot.. so it is touching the trunk ... and then the trunk tied to it at an interval appropriate.. to hold the tree straight ... like a splint ...

can you show us a pic or two

ken

• aamirizad
    9 years ago

Hello.