Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimtnc

Cherry tree...think I killed it!

jimtnc
14 years ago

Got a Kwansan cherry that I've been nursing for 3 years from an ugly duckling type potted tree from HD. I've pruned it into a more vase-like shape and applied root stimulation on several occasions. It was really starting to fill in well and grow upwards.

Now the bad part. Since it had been in the ground for 3 years I thought it could take a Bayer tree-drench (per label instructions for 1 gal water) for systemic repelling of beetles, which we have an over-abundance of here. I did this 3 weeks ago in preparation of the beetle attack. I also treated several other trees the same manner with no adverse affects.

Now, this cherry tree has all dead brown leaves on the tree, but several of the limbs I tested still looked green. Is this tree dead or continuing to die, or should I give it a chance to try to rebound? I have tried to flush the roots and applied a small dose (3oz/2-gal water) rootr stimulator to encourage root growth and new leafing.

Any thoughts?

Comments (11)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

"Since it had been in the ground for 3 years I thought it could take a Bayer tree-drench..."

That doesn't sound like a good reason at all. Bayer may be reasonably safe compared to some of the awful stuff out there, but that doesn't mean you should use it if you don't even have a need for it. I'm not one of those "organic-only" people, but this seems overboard to me!

"Any thoughts?"

Call Bayer at 1-877-229-3724, and ask them what's up. I'm not sure that the Bayer caused your problem, especially if you mixed it and applied it per the instructions, but maybe they could shed some light on any possible issues.

"I've...applied root stimulation on several occasions."