Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
timmy_t

Newbie seeking Willow help!

Timmy_T
10 years ago

Hi,

Newbie here needing some desperate advice on our willow tree?

Last year we had it pollarded and it recovered well, starting to grow back its branches and it had a good covering of leaves. This spring it again sprouted a good covering of new leaf, however, over the last few weeks these have started to wither, die off and fall from the tree. We have also noticed that a large section of bark has also fallen away, with cracks in the bark appearing in several other places.

Can anyone offer any advice as to what is the cause of this, and if there is any hope of saving our lovely tree? I have attached several photos to try and aid your diagnosis.

Many thanks in advance, TT

Comments (18)

• JonCraig
    10 years ago

Any pesticides or herbicides used recently? Not even necessarily directly ON the tree? The curling leaves look a lot like one time a couple years back when I spot-treated some weedy areas with 2,4D. A popup rainshower that afternoon washed the herbicide to the roots of some nearby plants and made the leaves freakishly curled. Looked like leafy arthritis.

Somebody smarter than me will probably have something more useful to say, but the curling leaves caught my attention.

• Timmy_T
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Not by us, but a neighbouring farmer has just sprayed docs in an adjacent field. However, nothing else has been affected, neither the plants in the surrounding bed or the other trees in the garden (and there are quite a few!)

• Timmy_T
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another photo if will help

• Timmy_T
    Original Author
    10 years ago

And another

• Timmy_T
    Original Author
    10 years ago

....and one final one!

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

many of us would call that 'topping' of the tree...

not pollarding ..

where are you .. any chance of a freeze after leaf out

why was this done