Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris209_gw

Apple Tree Pruning

Hi everyone,
I am new to fruit tree growing. I planted 2 apple trees at the back of my property 2 years ago; Liberty and William's Pride. I am a little unsure of how to proceed with the apple tree in the below picture (I forget which variety it is, but can find out if needed). Hopefully you can make out that there is some branching lower down, then a stretch with just leaves, then some new branching at the very top. It seems to me that this is a problem, but I'm not sure what the best thing to do would be. What do you think? Thank you for your suggestions.

{{gwi:368175}}

Comments (6)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    9 years ago

I could type out instructions for the next hour and you'd probably still have questions. The best place to start is to search the Fruit and Orchards Forum for the many, many previous threads on this topic. I'd be happy to answer specific questions, but there's just too much to re-cover in a single post. To start with, you're going to need to choose a pruning style (one of the various central-leader type methods, an open vase style, one of the various trellis system methods, etc, etc) that matches your situation/needs.

There are hundreds of articles about this online, many of which are from ag extension/university sources or from various fruit groups/societies. Another source that can pack a lot of info into a short time is the many YouTube videos on the topic.

After a search of at least ten to twelve sources, you should start to get a better idea of the scope of the information you need. Eventually, you'll get to the point that you have to go out and prune. Kind of like jumping into the pool for the first time, you will feel more comfortable once the initial hesitation is past.

• chris209 (LI, NY Z7a)
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi Brandon,