Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spruceman

Preventing wood rot in trees--Liquid copper fungicide

spruceman
15 years ago

I promised to set up a topic with a title and appropriate searchable key words explaining the situations where liquid copper fungicide and be used to prevent wood rotting fungi that can weaken and/or destroy trees. I have seen many, many trees weakened or destroyed by wood rotting fungi that entered through large pruning cuts and/or wounds to tree trunks. Most of not all of these trees could have been "saved" if the wood rotting fungi could have been kept out.

I experimented with some other fungicides. None worked except for the liquid copper fungicide. Some fungicides break down rather quickly, but liquid copper fungicide depends on the copper itself as the anti-fungal agent, and this copper is rather stable and does not break down, so it can remain active for a long period of time.

I have been using liquid copper fungicide for about 22 years on something close to 100 trees. I have used it mostly on some very large "pruning" cuts, some of which have required many years-some over 20 yearsÂto re-grow wood over the exposed wood, yet none have become infected with fungal rot. In fact, the exposed wood is still hard and fresh, without any softening after as many as 22 years. I have used this mostly on white pine, red pine, and Norway spruce, but also on a number of other kinds of trees, including red oak, ash, red maple, and sugar maple.