Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
matthew18_gw

transplanting pine tree

matthew18
14 years ago

I'm not an expert on the differnt types of pines but I dug up a 3 foot pine today to put a small cherry tree in the same area(good sun) How well do pines transplant? I dropped some peat moss, bone meal and a healthy dose of water. I'm hoping the bone meal gets the roots going. What else can I do to ensure it lives? Any help or suggestion are appreciated. BTW in live in upstate ny if that helps.

Comments (9)

• tmore
    14 years ago

The best thing to do is use soil in your yard only. Bone Meal takes for ever to brake down enough to make ready available to the plant. If your using peat moss mix it thorough with the soil from the hole than back around the plant. I don't like filling holes with water because at could take time for the water to leave the hole. Water the plant after you have in the ground

• matthew18
    Original Author
    14 years ago

thanks tmore. Do you think something like a shultz or miracle that has high phos% will give it a kick start? is that to much phos?

• iforgotitsonevermind
    14 years ago

Fertilizer and miracle grow is a great way to kill transplants by . Don't use them.
    Wrong time of the year to be planting.
    Many pines dont transplant well. It depends on the species. White pine- if that's what you got- is fairly easy.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    14 years ago

why didnt you simple replant it???

NEVER FERTILIZE A TREE OR ...in this case.. A CONIFER ... EVER.. period.. paragraph ...

unless a soil test indicates something is lacking...

any witches brew you BUY.. or can dream up.. is contrary to mother nature.. and a waste of money IMHO ....

pines like extremely dry soil .... that is why a peat based potting media is not great.. FOR THE LONG TERM ....

why did you not :

WAIT UNTIL PROPER PLANTING TIME for both plants ... October in my z5

and why did you not just replant the pine ...