Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ospreynn

Which is more tolerant of alkaline soils, pin oak or sweetgum?

ospreynn
10 years ago

I know pin oaks do not like alkaline soils, but I wonder how their tolerance compares to sweetgum, as I have some first hand experience with the latter....

Comments (15)

• lou_spicewood_tx
    10 years ago

It seems that sweetgum trees are more tolerant than pin oaks. There are decent sized ones in downtown Midlothian, Tx. Pin oaks cannot grow well there at all.

• Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    10 years ago

My vote off local to me examples only is sweetgum also.

• User
    10 years ago

Pretty sure Pin Oak might even be considered acid-loving, so I vote on the Sweet Gum.

• ospreynn
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well, I managed to kill my sweetgum in about 3 years.. it was clorothic and sick looking all the time.. and the pH on my soil is about 7.5.. then a pin oak is a no no...

thanks for your help

• hairmetal4ever
    10 years ago

I wonder if, like many trees, it has to do with seed provenance.

• drrich2
    10 years ago

Providence could be all the more important if you consider the Rotundiloba form of sweet gum, to avoid the spiky balls. So the question becomes, what about that one in particular?

Unless no one using the yard likes to go barefoot.

Per the link I'm providing, sweet gum is only recommended for acid soils as chlorosis develops in soils with pH > 7.5.

Any reason you're stuck with these 2 choices? Some oaks better tolerate higher pH than pin oak, from what I recall. Aren't there some 'local provenance' Shumard Oak in Texas that can handle higher pH? If so, would one work in your area?

Richard.

Here is a link that might be useful: Here's a link to a PDF on sweet gum.

• ospreynn
    Original Author
    10 years ago