Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hosenemesis

New thread on Purple Robe Robinia Locust

hosenemesis
11 years ago

Hi tree people,

I cut down my Purple Robe locust tree because it was sending root suckers into my neighbor's lawn, across my garden, and into my vegetable beds, as well as dropping yellow leaves into my pond all summer and rarely flowering.

This seems to have sent the roots into a shoot frenzy. There are literally THOUSANDS of shoots coming up everywhere. They are destroying my lovely little zoysia lawns, uplifting flagstones, disturbing the roots of my veggies and newly planted irises. I have been pulling up shoots for five months, daily. I'm tired. My neighbor has been mowing them down, but I am afraid he'll miss some and the roots will be fed. I go over there once a month to hunt for shoots in his ivy and weeds.

Has anyone managed to kill this tree? How did you do it? Do you think the roots will eventually die if I keep picking, or should I just Round-up my lawns?

Don't plant this tree in hot inland Southern California. Please. It won't bloom well, it will lose its leaves when temps get in the 100s, and it will destroy your garden and your neighbors will hate you.

Renee

Comments (15)

• wisconsitom
    11 years ago

Renee, locusts are, in the broadest terms, "broadleaved plants". As such, any of a number of phenoxy herbicidal preparations will do them in. It may take a few whacks at it, but should eventually work. That way, you needn't kill your lawn.

+oM

• denninmi
    11 years ago

I second the suggestion to use a broadleaved weedkiller designed for lawns. The suckers will translocate the chemical through the entire root mass and kill it, but it will take a couple of applications. You can also, of course, carefully apply in other locations, avoiding desirable plants.

• Embothrium
    11 years ago

Liable to be a black locust rootstock you are dealing with and not Purple Robe.

• katob Z6ish, NE Pa
    11 years ago