Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rmclendon

transplanting oak trees

rmclendon
17 years ago

Hello, all, I am a true newbie, as the only gardening I have ever done involved 2 pots of begonias.

I have two very healthy oak trees, don't ask me what kind, growing right up against my carport. They both have trunks about 6 inches in diameter. They are about 15 feet tall. They will have to be cut down or moved, if not for the carport, because they are growing up into some electrical wires.

Can these trees be transplanted?? I hate to just cut them down, and then what would I have to do to get rid of the roots? See? I have no idea how to deal with plants, let alone trees.

Comments (10)

• lucy
    17 years ago

If you wait til March, you can transplant them. If you do it now, they will die. That's nature!

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    17 years ago

An oak that big planted right next to your carport may theoretically be able to be moved, but you sure wouldn't see me trying that trick. Many types of oaks really don't like to be transplanted and may suffer considerable transplant shock (whether moved now or some other time) unless you get a fairly large rootball.

The bottom line is that unless Lucy would agree to come over and do all the work for free or I could hire a professional with the right equipment to do the work, I think I would just cut them down and remove the tree.

• quirkyquercus
    17 years ago

Post picture.
    Get step by step instructions.

• Jolly__Roger
    17 years ago

A 90" tree spade could do it.
    The tree movers I hired told me that oaks do better when transplanted in the Spring.

• lucky_p
    17 years ago

I'm with brandon7; yes, conceivably, they *could* be moved, but a 6" caliper/15 footer is way bigger than I'd be inclined to attempt, nor would I be inclined to spend the $$ it'd take to hire someone with a large tree spade to move 'em, unless they were a valuable, one-of-a-kind specimen.