Return to the Trees Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
"Something" is on our Pecan Trees!

Posted by Thlorian 8 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 31, 14 at 21:17

Hello - Newbie here. Our neighbor pointed out to us some strange things that are on our trees. He said they may be bag worms forming? Can someone here PLEASE identify what these are and how to get rid of them via a pesticide? Thanks VERY MUCH!

Al in Texas

Follow-Up Postings:

o
Another picture

Here is another picture . . . thanks!

o
RE: "Something" is on our Pecan Trees!

I can't see them that well, but I suspect you're not talking about true 'bagworms' (such as prey on arborvitae & some other plants; google them), but rather a different kind of beast...tent caterpillars. Try googling them and see whether that's what you're seeing.

Richard.

o

Yeah, i think they are tent catipilars.
I had some on a small tree and they made cacoons all over it! A coworker came and cut it down.

o

Probably Walnut Caterpillars. (treatment link below)

Dax

Here is a link that might be useful: Walnut Caterpillar - Kansas State University

o

What Dax said, if you can find Bt (baccilus Thuring??) Not clear on the right spelling. It will target the worms only. If you can't find it Sevin will work, but will kill good bugs too. If need be, try to only apply where the wormies are. That is what I would do anyway. Then hopefully the worms will congregate and the seven or baccillus sprayed worms will contaminate the ones not sprayed.

o

Poaky. The caterpillars have to ingest (eat) the Bt (Bacillus thuringiensis Kurstaki). It must be sprayed on foliage not on the caterpillar.

Yes, these appear to be walnut caterpillars; they have come down from feeding on the foliage to gather on the trunk in order to molt. They'll return to the canopy for more feeding. Right NOW is the perfect time to kill a bunch of caterpillars.