Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dancing_shadows

Grafting

dancing_shadows
13 years ago

I am new to the world of trees, so forgive me if this question sounds stupid/elementary.

I was wondering if it was possible to graft a tree from a warmer zone to an established tree from my zone, and have it survive/produce fruit.

Just a little scientific curiosity :)

Comments (16)

• lucky_p
    13 years ago

It depends on the species and variety.

I've grafted some selections of fruiting trees - like mulberries and pecans - from the zone 7/8 region to my zone 6 setting with good success, but have had some that couldn't take my KY winters - or I didn't have a long enough growing season with sufficient heat units to ripen/mature their fruits/nuts.
    Many of the common fruit varieties, like apples, pears, stonefruits, etc. will grow and fruit over a wide range of climatic conditions/regions, but some perform better in others.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    13 years ago

you go by the zone rating of the scion ... not the understock ...

as a wild example .... you can not take a tropical mango .. and graft it onto some z4 long lost relative.. and think you will get mangos in the great white north .... on the theory that the roots will survive winter .... the bud will be long gone as soon as the temps start falling ...

now.. if you are talking one zone.. a little zone pushing ... and you have some special little zone pushing nook in your yard ... a micro climate as we say .... yes.. it can be done ...

make sense..

never apologize for a question ... the only bad question is the un-asked question.. IMHO ...

ken

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    12 years ago

Another old post I dug up while bored.