Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
molie_gw

How tall does Cornus Kousa 'Wolf Eyes' get?

molie
13 years ago

I'd love to hear about your experiences growing this tree because, sadly, I did a bad thing. I purchased a 'Wolf Eyes' because I fell in love at first sight. The tag said... slow growing to 6 feet.... Hmmm, I thought... what a nice foundation specimen!

So I bought it, planted it, and then I did my research. (I know... I know ... sounds like a novice gardener but, no, I've been doing this for 40 years.) I've read such conflicting reports on its eventual size, ranging from 8ft to 15ft in height and spread. Does anyone have experience growing this tree? I'd really appreciate an eyewitness account on the growth habit of 'Wolf Eyes' before I move it this fall.

Thanks,

Molie

Comments (10)

• whaas_5a
    13 years ago

I went through the same exercise...bottomline is that your tree will grow somewhere between 8' and 20'.

I think the range has to do with its slow growth and potential high mortality rate once inflicted with anthracnose.

The only way to help close the gap in that range is to find out from someone in YOUR area.

Same applied to Korean Maple, heights ranged from 10-25'! Finally I found out from sources in my area that it will hit about 15'.

• mainegrower
    13 years ago

My single specimen of 'Wolf Eyes' was planted five or six years ago as a 4 foot tree. It's now around 7.5 feet tall. In the first few years it grew very slowly, but has accelerated in the last couple of years. Last year's record rainfall summer caused it to put on at least 1.5 feet of growth.

To me, the strength of this variety is its ability to thrive in quite dense shade where it really lights up the area. Shade also protects the white leaf margins from browning and crisping.

If your tree is in a good spot, I wouldn't bother to move it. Pruning should easily keep it at a reasonable height.

• Embothrium
    13 years ago