Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stguaposfire

Autumn Parrotia

StGuaposFire
9 years ago

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I'm planning on having two large parrotias (20-25 ft) planted in front of my house on either side of my long driveway. I think the transplant will be fine bc it's being done by a certified arborist who has moved even larger trees many times before.

What I'm mainly curious about is what type of autumn color you think I'll see on my parrotias here in zone 7 (extreme northern Delaware). I've read everything from parrotia being perhaps the finest autumn color tree to it simply being unexceptional. Due to these conflicting claims, I'm not sure what to expect.

Thanks for your contributions!

Comments (23)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

how long of a guarantee is this pro offering you???

and find out.. and lets discuss.. how he recommends watering of a 20 to 25 foot transplant ...

welcome to the forum ...

ken

• hairmetal4ever
    9 years ago

They seem touch and go from what I see - sometimes coloring very well, other times I've seen them fall off green or barely yellowing a bit.

• poaky1
    9 years ago

I saw some pics online showing nice bark, and yellow fall color.

• StGuaposFire
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Ken,

There is no guarantee involved in this transplant, so I realize there is some risk involved, which I'm willing to take in this case. I know of several similar or even larger trees he's successfully transplanted the same way. The size doesn't seem too much of a problem if you have the proper equipment to dig and transport the entire root ball and some of the dirt around it as well as properly feed and water the tree after transplant. When my house was built a different landscaper installed three 20ft October glories and they are all doing quite well two years out.