Return to the Trees Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Oak tree parasites

Posted by chrisnmarie none (My Page) on
Sat, Aug 3, 13 at 15:44

Hi all,

Total newbie from the UK after some advice. We have recently planted a pendunculate oak in our garden but have discovered small 'lumps' on the underside of some of the leaves and burgundy red circles about 1mm in diameter on others. I am assuming that these are galls and maybe a fungus but don't know whether to try and treat them or just leave them alone. I want to protect the environment as much as I can but I also really would like to protect this tree.
Can anyone offer any advice?
Thank you
Chris

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Oak tree parasites

hard to give any advice w/o a pic...

and i am leery of relying on a self-admitted NEWBIES diagnosis ....

i would presume gall.. and ignore until the leaves fall off.. and then the problem goes away ... there is NOTHING to do when dealing with gall ....

BTW... i would NEVER spray a stressed tree.. for any reason... why double its stress???

pic please.. or compare at link ..

i wish you all the luck in the world.. keep it properly watered.... and review the copy/paste link below .. and lets discuss.. what you did.. if anything.. that is contrary to proper planting ... perhaps we will replant it in fall ....

ken

ps; i would not have bought a tree with such... unless it was some sublime variegated.. only one in the country plant .... newbie lesson #1 ... buy clean stock ... dont you think ... and if your nursery cant provide such.. find a better nursery .... and that was lesson #2 ... lol ..

planting guide: https://sites.google.com/site/tnarboretum/Home/planting-a-tree-or-shrub

Here is a link that might be useful: link

o

Generally speaking, oak leaf galls and spots are nothing at all to worry about. The effect on the tree's health is generally negligible.