Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twangme

Weeping Willow is making me weep

twangme
10 years ago

Hello! Newbie here. Sooo many questions but I'll start with my Weeping Willow. Bought it 4 years ago at HD as a 6' potted tree. Planted it 15' away from my chicken coops in our clay soil. Just dug a 15" hole, threw in some chicken poo and dropped it in. It didn't grow much the first year. In it's second year the top was broken off when the cattle got out. Since then it has only grown to about 12 feet tall. :( One of top branches is about 2" diameter and is weeping heavily to the south then heading straight to the ground. Actually ALL the branches weep to the south and the north side looks bare. Last year we staked branches to the north to train them without much luck. The branches are very long and drag the ground by at least two feet much to the enjoyment of our dogs. Under the tree is that horrible Johnson grass. It has taken over. My thoughts are... 1) Prune the fat top branch back until it seems straight and make that the new trunk. 2) Prune the long whips to lighten up the weight and allow branches to grow taller. 3) Figure out how to kill the Johnson grass without damaging the tree. There are lots of WW in my area and they are all big, full and beautiful. ??

Comments (11)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

post a pic....

how can i give you.. we... give you .... pruning advice.. w/o ever seeing the plant ....

ken

• twangme
    Original Author
    10 years ago

You are absolutely right. I was excited to find this group and hoped I had painted a picture of the problem. I'll get some pics then repost.

• Dzitmoidonc
    10 years ago

Just let it grow. The growth pattern (if there is one) is the tree just grows up without a real central leader. Pruning it causes a bunch of shoots to erupt from the bark around the cut and below that. Eventually, some get taller.