Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
latorgator_gw

To Kill a Chinaberry

latorgator
13 years ago

I have several Chinaberry trees in my yard I want to get rid of. I've read that just about the only way to kill them is to cut them down and treat the stump with herbicide. The problem I have is that one of them is growing right next to a Crape Myrtle I don't want to kill, and the other is growing out of an azalea bush I don't want to kill either. So, if I treat the stump with herbicide will things growing around it be safe? If not, do I have any other choices?

Here is the Chinaberry growing next to the Crape Myrtle:

{{gwi:419195}}

Comments (27)

• feed_the_tree
    13 years ago

I am no expert, but why not dig the stump and roots out? Using herbicide next to plants you want to save seems like a bad idea. Or, use Tannerite (a legal binary explosive) and blast the stump...

• gardningrandma
    13 years ago

If you dont want to use herbicide, you can try just cutting it down at the base. It will more than likely come back again and again but if you stay on top of it, eventually it will run out of energy.

• gardningrandma
    13 years ago

There is some debate as to whether it will harm nearby plants.
    I am in the "why chance it" camp.
    It's not like the roundup is really going to kill it on the first try anyway. This is a chinaberry we're talking about. It would take repeated applications of commercial herbicides.

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    13 years ago

"...unless you sneeze and squeeze at the same time and spray the whole yard..."

ROFL. That's good!

"There is some debate as to whether it will harm nearby plants."

Not much debate. Unless there's another Chinaberry rootgrafted to the first one, I'd say your safe with Ken's method (unless you sneeze and squeeze at the same time and spray the whole yard, of course).

"It would take repeated applications of commercial herbicides."