Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reeko05

Paper Birch Trunk wound

reeko05
9 years ago

Hi,
I just noticed my paper Birch had a giant wound from an outside spot light that was placed too close to the truck by the previous owner. I examined the wound and noticed that inside it was very moist and soft/spongy. This has worried me as I love this tree. Here is a picture of the trunk. Sometimes after Storms I will find 1-2 inch diameter branches that have fallen. They are soft and spongy as well.

This post was edited by reeko05 on Sun, Aug 24, 14 at 21:57

Comments (14)

• reeko05
    Original Author
    9 years ago

It's the inner most part

• Huggorm
    9 years ago

It looks like the wound is closing up very well. That tree has a good chance to survive

• reeko05
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Should I call an arborist? The inside feels very spongy. I am a novice to trees.

• Ruffles78
    9 years ago

It looks like it is healing up well. As much as it has encapsulated, it will probably be alright even if the heart wood gets a little spongy. It's unlikely that the limbs that fell are related to the wound. Birches drop limbs pretty regularly.

P.S. There's little an arborist could do at this point.

• reeko05
    Original Author
    9 years ago

OK. Do paper Birch require any special care? Can I do anything to increase its health?

• wisconsitom
    9 years ago

Only thing I'd recommend is to pay attention to water needs. And this does not necessarily mean get the hose out. If you're getting roughly 1 inch of rainfall per week, you're good to go. Only if it gets quite dry would I water, and then, you really need to water the whole area around the tree, not just a little spot up against the trunk. I don't know where you are, so it is hard for me to guess what your moisture status is. But many areas of the country east of the Mississippi are doing very well for moisture.

+oM

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago