Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
agray132

Can a dogwood thrive in nevada?

agray132
10 years ago

I'm a newbie at this so be easy on me. I live in northeastern Nevada in zone 1 at about 5000 feet or better in a desert climate but there is the ruby mountain range approximately 15 miles away that slightly changes the climate at my residence. Generally considered the Great Basin area. The soil here has poor to moderate drainage. We can get down around -15F in winter and upwards peak of 110 in the summer. I'm considering planting a white dogwood tree in the lawn area of my front yard. I do have a sprinkler system that would keep the soil moist around the tree during the spring, summer, and early fall. My house would be situated to the north of the tree and I have nearly a continuous easterly wind that would hit the tree. We are fairly windy here but rarely high winds, mainly between 10 to 20 mph. We have hot, dry weather/wind. The winters do provide a moderate amount of snowfall that stays on the ground for around 3 months of winter (Dec through Mar). I was told a dogwood could survive here if taken care of. Would a dogwood survive here in your opinion?

Comments (33)

• famartin
    10 years ago

Hi there,

Well, your temp information about your region is a bit off. Near the Rubies (southwestern Elko County) temperatures never hit 110. 105 occasionally, 108 once (and that's right in downtown Elko) but no temps of 110 are on record. This past summer, which was considered very hot, only hit 104 in Elko and barely 100 in Spring Creek. At least from reliable thermometers, some poorly sited/ventilated sites did read over 110, but those readings are false. -15 is easy in the winter here, it can get to -30 some winters especially away from downtown Elko, and even in downtown Elko it once hit -43, though that was back in the 1930s.