Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yogert909

Flowering cherry in zone 10

yogert909
13 years ago

Hi, I am just getting started in gardening. My wife would very much like to have a flowering (yoshino) cherry tree in our yard but it is hardiness zone is 5-8. We live in zone 10 (los angeles).

Zone 10 seems to be a special climate zone without extreme temperatures, so I'm thinking that it might be ok. The nursery said to plant in morning sun but they can't guarantee it will survive. Does this sound accurate? Can anyone explain to me what about my zone might not be healthy to the cherry tree and maybe some tips on planting for success.

We would love to have this tree in our yard, but a half dead tree would just be depressing. Thanks for any help.

Comments (38)

• gardningrandma
    13 years ago

Those zone numbers refer to cold hardiness not heat tolerance.
    The problem with the higher zones is not necessarily heat but rather the absence of a long enough period of cold required for the trees to come out of dormancy.
    I'd imagine you're going to need plenty of irrigation for these too. Or else they're going to drop most of their leaves and look kinda ugly.

• Embothrium
    13 years ago

There are spectacularly flowering plantings of 'Pink Cloud' in a park in San Diego. Maybe try that one instead. The cultivar originated from a seedling that came up in the Huntington Botanical Garden, near Los Angeles.

The tree is on the retail market because L.E. Cooke grows it, supplies it to garden centers etc.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pink_Cloud(CMYK).pdf

• yogert909
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the suggestion bboy. We might consider but we are both allergic to the color pink;) We are really hoping for a white, non-weeping variety(akebono or yoshina) if it will thrive. Otherwise we might look into some purple ones that I see around LA and Pasadena