Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
estreya_gw

Heartsick about Dogwood - Is it doomed? (pics)

estreya
15 years ago

Hello, everyone.

I have 3 Cornis Kousa Heartthrob Dogwoods which were planted about three years ago. This year, i noticed that the bark at the base of one of the trees was sort of "flaking off." In no time at all, the bark pretty much all around the base of the tree was completely sloughed.

{{gwi:458942}}
{{gwi:458943}}

Can anyone tell me what's going on with this tree? Is it diseased? And moreover, is it doomed? Is there anything i can do to save it (assuming it needs saving)?

I have to say this breaks my heart, because of all three dogwoods, this one is the most beautiful in structure and bloom.

Advise?

Comments (20)

• sarahm_2008
    15 years ago

This is my first time posting. I can't believe that several minutes ago "estreya" posted this topic because it's exactly what I'm needing help with. If I should be doing my own separate post, please speak up everyone. However it seems logical to post my query along with this one since it's practically identical. I have 2 dogwoods (not sure of type) that have been doing great for the 4 years since I've lived here. This year, I did some minor pruning - that is the only thing I've done besides some fertilizer pellets over the years. Now I have peeling bark like the previous poster. However, I don't see the pinkish striations underneath where the bark peeled off as in her photos. My apologies - I don't see an option for how to post my photos...thanks for any tips and being understanding for this rookie poster.

• estreya
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Sarahm, i'm happy to scoot over! There's plenty of room on this thread, so welcome. I'm sorry, though, that you seem to be in the same, or a similar boat with your trees. It's so painful to see a tree in distress, isn't it?

I hope our trees will be able to shack off whatever's plaguing them. I'm sure we'll get some answers here in the coming days.