Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thepollywogpond

GPS system for tree mapping

c2g
10 years ago

Hi, I've been doing tree plantings with a Friends group for a few years now. We just planted 7 trees over the weekend and aside from a branch ribbon or relying on who was there when it was planted, we have no way of keeping track of plantings.

I've never used anything but my phone for a GPS. Wondering if there's a device out there that would allow us to get exact locations for the trees so we could start monitoring their progress. I also run the group's website, and being able to generate data to display on a map would be nice.

Any suggestions?

Comments (12)

• Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    10 years ago

That is a neat idea!

Perhaps one of the hiking geared gps units would be best? If I remember some have topography built in.

• arktrees
    10 years ago

Should be able to use a stand alone GPS unit to mark them on Google Maps/Earth. Will still be subject to certain limitations (i.e. within 30 feet), but probable good enough. To go below 30' would be VERY expensive. Just so that you know, the tech is able to go well below 30', but the limitations are due to the fact that GPS is a military system, and that is the limit they set for non-military uses.

You could also just place markers manually in Goggle Earth using the Satellite Photography. I've done that many times.

Arktrees

• krnuttle
    10 years ago

This is slightly different from what you are looking at, but is some ways appropriate.

Using Google Earth you should be able to locate the position of the tree you planted with or with out GPS. Find the general area where the tree was planted and zoom into the area and find the nearly exact the location where you planted the tree.