Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
autumncolors_gw

Autumns colors for my yard, please!

autumncolors
9 years ago

I'm new to gardening and don't know anything at all about tree types and such. I live in central Mississippi, where leaves tend to turn brown quickly before falling. Any suggestions on trees that will hold on to bright colors well in my area and be a good fit for my somewhat small yard? I think bradford pears are stunning, but I read on this forum that they're horrible trees.

Comments (10)

• bostedo: 8a tx-bp-dfw
    9 years ago

Dogwood (Cornus florida) provides the most reliable and enduring fall color on our Dallas lot. Can remain a very small understory tree in heavy shade or larger with more sun. Another bonus is the spring bracts on mature trees. Is native in much of MS.

This post was edited by bostedo on Sat, Nov 29, 14 at 13:55

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

if the trees are in color right now ... down your way ...

get to an arboretum ... and take a nice fall walk ... and take pix of the trees you like ... and the tag ...

if lacking tags.. take a pic of the whole... and then the leaves with a scale ... even just your hand... and perhaps the trunk ..

if not here.. try the name that plant forum ...

it would so much easier... to ID things you LIKE ..... rather than write a thesis on the colorful trees of MS ...

also.. contact your COUNTY extension office... they might have brochures or some such.. and you could get a list.. and we could opine on such ...

good luck

ken

• autumncolors
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks to you both for your suggestions! There isn't an arboretum close by where I live, but the closest one did have a website loaded with useful information.

• User
    9 years ago

Crape Myrtles and Japanese Maples are two suggestions.

• jcalhoun
    9 years ago

Smooth sumac, black gum, sweet gum, sourwood,and red maples are southeastern natives and easy to grow.

• cousinfloyd
    9 years ago